Five MAJOR Mistakes I used to make

To err is human but…

The best thing in the world is to learn from other peoples
mistakes before you make them yourself.

Tis a whole lot easier…but it takes usin’ the ol’ noggin.

This is something many are not so good at. But I know
you’re good at it so…

Anyway, it’s very important to learn from mistakes. So, why
make them when you can learn from mine? I’ve been training
for a long, long time now and believe it or not I’ve made mistakes.

I know, I know… it’s hard to believe but I have made
mistakes…many mistakes. But I don’t want you to suffer
the same kinds of setbacks. So listen and learn and it
could save you years of frustration!

First HUGE mistake I used to make was training WAY to long.

When I first started working out, I wanted to get the fastest
results possible so I figured more = better. Needless to say,
I received a serious slap in the face to shake me of that notion.

One day I did an hour and a 1/2 session and then lost a considerable
amount of strength in my next session. I thought…what the….?

The lesson learned: Duh…this means I needed to study the
basics. Anything over a half and hour is doing way more
harm then good. Nuff said…just listen and learn.

El numero 2. 
Not Eating Enough Protein

You’ve GOT to know, if you’re interested in gaining and
retaining muscle…you have to feed your muscles in order
for them to grow. But after training for about a ten or
twelve months I had  gained a whole lot of weight.

Not all of it good.

So, I went on a super low-fat diet. Mind you this was
MANY moons ago. But I couldn’t figure out what the
problem was until one day, when I just had enough of
‘low-fat’ eating, I cooked up a huge NY strip (12 oz) and I sucked
that thing down in a flash! And then I started eating more
protein based foods.

Guess what? My strength shot up almost immediately!

The lesson learned: protein is critical for muscle building
and retaining it. Don’t get enough and you will compromise
all your hard work.

Number 3 Is…not enough of the RIGHT TYPE of
cardiovascular training.

When I first began training, I went from 180 lbs. to
230 lb. weight lifter in about 12 months.

And yes it was all real and not synthetic.

During that time I did do some cardio training. But not enough.

I was a beast. I mean I was BIG. I had a 54 inch chest, 19 inch arms,
nearly a 20 inch neck, 30+ inch thighs. I could, with ease, crack off
a set 8 single arm dumbbell rows with a 150 lb. dumbbell, et cetera.

Now, I’m not saying any of that to brag or any other such nonsense.

The point is I used to wake up every morning and look in the
mirror and I just did not look good – to me. They were many
who begged to differ…but it didn’t matter.

It doesn’t matter what other people think if you don’t agree.

Right? Right.

And, I felt really unhealthy and unbalanced.

The lesson learned: even if you’re trying to gain weight, you
have to do some sort of cardio each week. Your heart and muscles
will thank you for it, not to mention your waistline.

Number 4. Too Much of the WRONG KIND of ‘cardio’

After the previous extreme, there was a time when I was trying
to lose fat and went to the other extreme: too much cardio.
I remember one session where I did 20 minutes at the highest
setting on the Stair Master, then skipped rope for 10 minutes,
then did the stationary bike for 20 minutes,
then 10 more minutes of skipping.

I was in great cardio shape but my strength and muscle mass
plummeted and, to be honest, I could have achieved better fat
reduction and muscle gain with 10 or 15 minutes of
The Warrior’s Way.

More on that in a minute. 

The lesson learned: too much cardio can be counterproductive.
Certainly, it will burn a lot of calories but your muscles will burn
more during the day just sitting around. Short, intense sessions
will spare your muscle mass and boost your metabolism more
effectively, NO QUESTION!

5. Not Eating Enough FOOD

This is a critial mistake I’ve made before.

But thankfully I have learned.

It applies not only to muscle building but to your ’shredding phase’
as well. Not eating enough can really limit your results. But,
as we all know, life gets busy and it’s hard to eat and
prepare frequent, healthy meals.

The lesson learned: Do your best with the time and food
you’ve got. Be aware that the more regularly and frequently
you can eat, the better. If you want to gain a lot of muscle,
you are going to have to eat even when you don’t feel like
you necessarily need to or even want to.

So what?

Well, everybody makes mistakes.

There is no doubt about that.

I know you’re one of the wise ones who will avoid making
the same mistakes I’ve made.
***********************************************

The Lexicon

Pomposity

Function: noun
Inflected Form(s): plural -ties
1 : pompous demeanor, speech, or behavior
2 : a pompous gesture, habit, or act

Mr. Jefferson was, though formal in speech,
incapable of pomposity.

***********************************************

Lead the way–
Matt Shannon
Health, Fitness and Fighting Guru

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

